The Rose Society -A Young Elites Novel – Marie Lu

51+FlUlFz5L._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

I am going to base this review on the assumption that anyone reading it has read the first novel. It is hard to do review for a series of books if you can’t actually say anything for fear of giving too much away.

In the second installment of the Young Elites novels, we meet up with some familiar characters and meet some new ones. Adelina’s power grows stronger and her quest for revenge fuels her through out the entire book. She often loses herself and goes to a much darker side. I believe we see her more a villain than a hero in this book. The book jacket even mentions that briefly so I don’t feel I am giving too much away. She starts her own group, the Rose Society in an effort to overthrow the Queen and become ruler of the land.

The other group of Elites Рthe Daggers are here as well, all trying to stop the current Queen and her lead inquisitor from enslaving malfettos. (The queen is not loved at all)

The story has many twists and turns, it has some interesting dialog and gets into the power that lives in the elites minds. It moves the story line along and the introduction of new characters is great. However, I had a hard time with this one. I didn’t devour it as I did the first. I am not sure if it was a state of mind or just the book. I hope the third one is better and isn’t as slow going as I thought this one was.

So far, the first book is my favorite. I am looking forward to seeing what the author plans on doing with the characters and how she plans on ending the story.

 

Leave a Reply

